Pumpkin Muffins

Have I mentioned that I LOVE to bake?  Well, I do!  It has been cold and rainy the past 2 days, and that just screams “Bake Something”!! to me!  I decided to stay away from baking cookies this time since I’ll be making birthday cakes soon.  I decided to whip up the kids favorite (okay and mine too) pumpkin muffins!  A friend gave me a healthy recipe years ago that she got from a Cooking Light magazine.  Here’s a link to see the original recipe..http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pumpkin-muffins-3

Here is what I do…

In a medium size bowl, I mix together all the dry ingredients (flours, sugars, salt, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and baking powder)

Then in another bowl I add the wet ingredients (milk, eggs, canned pumpkin puree, canola oil, applesauce).  This time around I was out of applesauce so I added in some low fat vanilla yogurt I had on hand.  That worked out perfect too!

Now add the mixed wet ingredients to your dry ingredients.

IMG_3712   IMG_3711

Spray muffin tins and add your batter!

IMG_3713

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes (10-12 min for mini muffins)

IMG_3954  IMG_3714

These are wonderful!!!  My kids love them!

Here’s the recipe (with the changes I make)

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons pumpkin-pie spice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup 1 or 2% milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup canola oil (coconut oil would probably work too, but I haven’t tried this yet)
1/4 cup applesauce (or low fat yogurt works too)

Leave a comment